RSS

Favourite Quotes – City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

16 Apr

City of Fallen Angels Chapter titles http://www.goodreads.com/story/show/231983-all-the-experts-from-city-of-fallen-angels

Apologies in advance for typos..page numbers may be out by a page… punctuation marks may be missing

p78 …something is going on that I don’t know about.
Sometimes I think that’s the motto of my life.

p84 This from a guy who has all the sex appeal of a penguin.

p94 Is this the part where you tell me you’re secretly in love with me? Vampire mojo strikes again.

p96 Maybe it helped you keep your focus on the big picture which when your job was basically keeping the world safe from evil was a pretty big picture indeed.

p98 (bound to be typos here- can’t read my own writing) Taceant colloquia effugiatrisns. Hic losus est ubic mors gaudet succurrere vitae. Let conversation stop. Let laughter cease…Here is the place where the dead delight to teach the living.

p100 Why are you always trying to get yourself killed?
It’s my job.
It’s a hazard of your job. At least for most Shadowhunters. For you it seems to be the purpose.

We can buy you one of those books they have for little kids. Timmy Has Two Dads. Except I don’t think they have one called Timmy Has Two Dads and One of Them Was Evil. That part you’re just going to have to work through on your own.

p103 Do you have a lot of other profound thoughts like that? Blood is blood. A toaster is a toaster. A gelatinous cube is a gelatinous cube.

p107 I think I’m better than everyone else. An opinion that has been backed up with ample evidence.

p109 So how did you end up auditioning for my crappy band then?
I didn’t realise you knew it was crappy.

p109 So what you’re saying is not that you don’t want me to move out now I know you’re a werewolf, but that you won’t let me move out.
Right…I mean you can move out, but I’ll come with you.
That’s not necessary said Jace. I can keep a perfectly good eye on Simon, thank you. He’s my neophyte Downworlder to mock and boss around, not yours.

p117 I bet you thought that was very clever sneaking off like that.
Medium clever…like a cross between George Clooney in Ocean’s Eleven and those Mythbusters’ guys, but, you know, better-looking.
I’m always so glad I have no idea what you’re vacantly chatting about. It fills me with a sense of peace and wellbeing.

p118 I’m out of blood right now so unless you’re offering..
No thanks. We’ve been down that road before and I think we’re better off just as friends.

p119 I could be bonded in a nutshell and count myself a king of infinite space were it not I have bad dreams.

p121 I can’t be with her…And if I can’t be with her, it doesn’t really matter to me where I am. I might as well be with you because if she knew I was trying to protect you that might make her happy.
So you’re trying to make her happy despite the fact that the reason she’s unhappy in the first place is you…That seems contradictory doesn’t it?
Love is a contradiction said Jace.

p146 Ladies, ladies…there’s enough Simon to go around.

p172 You’d think the Angel would have been foresighted to give us a birth control rune, but no dice.

p175 What do you think Camille wants to see Magnus for…
…fashion tips.

p175 What’s this about yanking poor Magnus and Alec back from their vacation, Isabelle demanded. They have opera tickets!

p177 Yes she’s bleeding to death upstairs but I thought I’d avoid telling you right away because I like to draw the suspense out.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 16, 2011 in "Cassandra Clare"

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Favourite Quotes – City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

  1. obiwankenexus

    May 9, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    Some great lines! Have enjoyed all the books and will probably re-read them a bit more slowly second time around. Came across this site of some mash ups of posters for the movie with the lead of Jace played by Alex Pettyfer.
    http://www.polyvore.com/mortal_instruments/collection?id=249660
    I just love the creativity and the extensions that happen from just a single book.
    Julian Smith reading a book is so random. Love it!

     
  2. Sverige

    March 2, 2012 at 2:24 pm

    They have a solid, realistic, believable relationship, and it has been consistently building for three books. If you have NOT read the previous Mortal Instruments books, don’t read this. Seriously. Go back to the beginning. If you HAVE read them and it has been a while, you may wants to just google the previous books to remind yourself what happened just so this book doesn’t have you stumbling in confusion at a few parts, because it goes full blast with very little summarizing about previous events. (I thought I remembered, but when I googled the summaries I found myself saying “OH! I totally forgot about that!” many, many times).

     
  3. eli234

    August 19, 2012 at 11:51 pm

    Maybe it helped you keep your focus on the big picture which when your job was basically keeping the world safe from evil was a pretty big picture indeed is actually on page 124 for hardbacks

     
  4. Kitty

    October 7, 2014 at 5:10 pm

    The typos drive me batty.. On page 18 “a small fountain plashed”.. Ugh!

     

Leave a Reply

 
