RSS

Clockwork Angel – quotes

01 Oct

Quotes – The Clockwork Angel-by Cassandra Clare

“That was enterprising,” Will sounded nearly impressed. Nate smiled. Tess shot him a furious look. “Don’t look pleased with yourself. When Will says ‘enterprising’ he means ‘morally deficient.'” “No, I mean enterprising,” said Will. “When I mean morally deficient, I say, ‘Now, that’s something I would have done.”

“You know,” Gabriel said, “there was a time I thought we could be friends, Will.” “There was a time I thought I was a ferret,” Will said, “but that turned out to be the opium haze. Did you know it had that effect? Because I didn’t.”

“Nice place to live, isn’t it? Let’s hope they left something behind other than filth. Forwarding addresses, a few severed limbs, a prostitute or two …” “Indeed. Perhaps, if we’re fortunate, we can still catch syphilis.” “Or demon pox,” Will suggested cheerfully, trying the door under the stairs. It swung open, unlocked as the front door had been. “There’s always demon pox.” “Demon pox does not exist.” “Oh ye of little faith,” said Will, disappearing into the darkness under the stairs.

“Do you often sleep tied to the bed?” Will to Tessa

“Will rolled up his sleeves. “We’ll probably have to knock down the door–” “Or,” said Jem, reaching out and giving the knob a twist, “not.” The door swung open onto a rectangle of darkness. “Now, that’s simply laziness,” said Will.”

“Will: “Well, she’s not responding to my advances,” he observed more brightly than he felt, “so she must be dead.” Jem: “Or she’s a woman of good taste and sense.”

“Blue does not go with everything,” Will told her. “It does not go with red, for instance.” “I have a red and blue striped waistcoat,” Henry interjected, reaching for the peas. “And if that isn’t proof that those two colors should never be seen together under Heaven, I don’t know what is.”

“How rude. Many who have gazed upon me have compared the experience to gazing at the radiance of the sun.” Jem still had his eyes closed. “If they mean it gives you a headache, they aren’t wrong.”

“I have mastered many things in my life. Navigating the streets of London, speaking French without an accent, dancing the quadrille, the Japanese art of flower arranging, lying at charades, concealing a highly intoxicated state, delighting young women with my charms…” Tessa stared. “Alas,” he went on, “no one has ever actually referred to me as ‘the master,’ or ‘the magister,’ either. More’s the pity…”

Will looked horrified. “What kind of monster could possibly hate chocolate?” ..

“But the books are all behind bars!” she said. “Like a literary sort of prison!” Will grinned. “Some of these books bite, ” he said. “It’s wise to be careful.” “One must always be care of books,” said Tessa, “and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.” “I’m not sure a book has ever changed me,” said Will. “Well there is one volume that promised to teach one how to turn oneself into an entire flock of sheep-” “Only the weak-minded refuse to be influenced by literature and poetry,” said Tessa., determined not to let him run wildly off with the conversation. “Of course, why one would want to be an entire flock of sheep is another matter entirely, ” Will finished. … -Clockwork Angel, page 87, Tessa & Will

“Let me give you a piece of advice. The handsome young fellow who’s trying to rescue you from a hideous fate is never wrong. Not even if he says the sky is purple and made of hedgehogs.” p.40

The way it clung to him, showing the lines of him underneath – the ridges of hard muscle, the sharp line of collarbone, the Marks burning through like black fire – it made Tessa think of the way one might lay thin paper down over a brass engraving, brushing charcoal over it to bring the shape through.

Will’s eyes were very blue. “There’s plenty of sense in nonsense sometimes, if you wish to look for it.” ~ Page 88

“Jem shook his head. “You bit de Quincey,” he said. “You fool. He’s a vampire. You know what it means to bite a vampire.” “I had no choice,” said Will. “He was choking me.” “I know,” Jem said. “But really, Will. Again?”

“While the Clave disapproves of trespassers, oddly they take an even darker view of beheading and skinning people. They’re peculiar that way.”

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 1, 2010 in "Cassandra Clare"

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Clockwork Angel – quotes

  1. ashley

    December 12, 2010 at 3:34 am

    i loves jem but will is very funny i dint know it could be so hard to choose who your favorite charecter is🙂

     
    • Shelby Carter

      February 26, 2013 at 12:58 pm

      So true I have that issue

       
  2. ashley

    December 12, 2010 at 3:35 am

    “Jem shook his head. “You bit de Quincey,” he said. “You fool. He’s a vampire. You know what it means to bite a vampire.” “I had no choice,” said Will. “He was choking me.” “I know,” Jem said. “But really, Will. Again?”

    amazing ❤🙂😀

     
  3. Rodica

    May 3, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    i love this book

     
  4. Ana

    March 14, 2012 at 10:35 am

    Best book ever!!!!!
    Funniest book ever!!!!!

     
  5. Shelby Carter

    February 26, 2013 at 12:57 pm

    It’s so hard for me to choose because Will thought he was cursed so he tried to hide his feelings and be a jerk to protect her but on the other hand Jem was always so sweet and caring no matter what so I think if hey just made a team Wilem or a team Jeill like both of them combined I think I would be fine😍💗

     

Leave a Reply

 
